Posted on

All Hallow’s Eve

I’ve always loved Halloween. For the most part, it’s been my favorite holiday. I love the decorations and the tricks and the pumpkin carving and the costumes and the scary stuff, but most of all: the candy. I can’t explain why I love the day so much, but it may have to do with when I was born.

I was born on January 13. (If you don’t immediately understand why I like Halloween, don’t worry you probably shouldn’t.) I was born on a Sunday. This still doesn’t really help, does it?

My being born on the 13th of a month has allowed me to not be afraid or superstitious of the number 13 or anything silly like: black cats, walking under ladders, broken mirrors – really anything superstitious. Also, one theory is that 13 is 31 in reverse. That’s probably just a coincidence.

Also, my initials are B.A.T. So naturally I would have a slight admiration for bats. But not vampires. Or Dracula, that’s kinda dumb.

No, I don’t love everything about the paranormal. I’m still fairly timid about haunted houses, even if I know it’s not real. I just don’t care for getting scared. It doesn’t thrill me – it’s not my “thing.”

But I do like wearing costumes on Halloween. I mean, it’s fun. And when I was younger, trick-or-treating was the best thing – free candy! I also enjoy, still, carving a pumpkin. I make an attempt to carve one every year, even if it’s nothing fancy. I try to shy away from the cliche` “2 eyes, a nose and a mouth,” but it’s always nice to throw a face in once in a while. I’ve carved everything from a Stormtrooper helmet to nonsense words, and a dog’s head and an owl.

The reason I love any holiday is that it takes me back to being a child. I enjoy the care-free feeling of family and friends and knowing that when it’s over it will be back next year.

About Alex

I am a student at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater, OK. I am an advertising major and love advertising, because it is everywhere.

Leave a Reply

