Posted on

The Future Freaks Me Out

I’ve always been afraid of getting older. The constant thought of not knowing what’s to come makes living often a scary thing. I know I’m not the only one to experience this, but I still have a feeling that I question my future more than I should.

Ever since I was a kid, I have dreaded growing older. It’s the thought that someday I will die that makes me not want to go further in life, but at the same time I don’t want to die before I reach my elder years. It is quite a catch predicament.

I have, however, always had a feeling of constant worry that I’m not trying hard enough. As many people do, I question the meaning of life and our purpose on this planet and ask the question, “Why are we here?” I feel overpowered by capitalistic goals of making money and being successful. But in order to survive and live a worry-free life, one must strive for success and attempt to make money. Another catch, indeed.

The things that we wait for in our early years make the first half of life more interesting and not as drawn out. When we are in our youth, around five to ten years, we may not have as many worries which makes life easier and therefore a fun experience, which is how children should live. Our teenage years give us yearly rewards for waiting. For example, at 13 we can do “teenage” things and at 16 we can drive and at 18 we can vote and at 21 we can drink. From then on it’s just all rubbish.

Knowing that I will die makes life worth living, I suppose. There’s always the off chance that you may not live to see the next day, which means that you should always live life to the fullest or you might as well not live at all.

About Alex

I am a student at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater, OK. I am an advertising major and love advertising, because it is everywhere.

Leave a Reply

